Nestivo

Babyhood Sova Cot Breathe Eze Mattress

Cot mattresses

Nestivo’s take

A washable replacement for the compatible Sova system. The main convenience is cleaning the cover and pads; the three-piece shape makes bedding changes more involved than a standard one-piece mattress. It is not a general-purpose choice for other cots.

Compare Babyhood Sova Cot Breathe Eze Mattress

Mattress size & cot fit

Three-piece 125 × 70 × 10 cm Sova mattress; use only with the corresponding Sova system and instructions. Not an ordinary rectangular mattress.

Dimensions shortlist options; actual fit, firmness, condition and manufacturer approval still need checking.

Manufacturer dimension source · Dimensions checked 2026-10-31

Scores at a glance

What these scores mean and how we assess them

Low toxins
58 / 100
Performance
77 / 100
Sustainability
40 / 100
Availability
55 / 100
Price / value
64 / 100

Why parents choose it

What to think twice about

Evidence behind the scores

Low toxins — 58 / 100

Babyhood says its thermal-bonded fibre has no binders, adhesives or blowing agents, and lists OEKO-TEX Standard 100 Product Class I, REACH SVHC, RoHS, phthalate, formaldehyde/pH and water-vapour testing claims. These are strong published signals, but Nestivo has not independently retrieved certificate numbers or reports.

Material composition and potentially concerning inputs

Published materials: Thermal-bonded fibre; brand says no binders, adhesives or blowing agents.

Score: 8 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Full layer/material disclosure.

VOC / odour / emissions disclosure

OEKO-TEX Class I, AS/NZS 8811.1 and multiple chemical/material test claims published; reports not retrieved. No full finished-product VOC/emissions report was located in the reviewed public source.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Recognised low-emission testing/certification.

A product-specific emissions or VOC test report was not found.

Formaldehyde, adhesive and binder disclosure

OEKO-TEX Class I, AS/NZS 8811.1 and multiple chemical/material test claims published; reports not retrieved. Public disclosure is limited to what the brand describes; Nestivo did not infer absence of formaldehyde, adhesives or binders where it was not stated.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Product-level testing/certification.

Product-specific information on adhesives, binders and formaldehyde remains incomplete.

Flame-retardant treatment disclosure

OEKO-TEX Class I, AS/NZS 8811.1 and multiple chemical/material test claims published; reports not retrieved. No chemical-treatment absence is assumed where the page does not say so.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Clear no-added-flame-retardant evidence plus materials.

Whether flame-retardant treatments are used remains unconfirmed.

Independent material, certification or standards evidence

OEKO-TEX Standard 100, Product Class I (brand claim); AS/NZS 8811.1; listed REACH/RoHS/phthalate/formaldehyde-related testing. Babyhood describes OEKO-TEX Standard 100 Product Class I and several testing claims. Nestivo did not locate a public certificate number or test report, so these remain brand-published verification claims rather than independently re-verified records.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Multiple relevant product-level certifications/tests.

The certificate number, current validity and product coverage remain unconfirmed.

Ingredient/material disclosure completeness

Thermal-bonded fibre; brand says no binders, adhesives or blowing agents. OEKO-TEX Class I, AS/NZS 8811.1 and multiple chemical/material test claims published; reports not retrieved.

Score: 8 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Full formulation/component list with functions or composition.

Performance — 77 / 100

Washable covers and pads help with cleanup, but three connected mattress sections make bedding changes more involved than on a one-piece rectangular mattress. Related Sova owners report mixed experiences with bedding changes and support. It is a system-specific design rather than a standard rectangular replacement.

Confidence: Medium. Product details are available; older Sova package reviews do not establish performance of the current replacement mattress.

Firmness and safe-sleep suitability

Sova-specific fit; washable mesh cover/pad; water-vapour and firmness claims. ACCC safe-sleep guidance emphasises using the size and thickness designed for the cot and a firm, flat, level surface. The 14-review cot rating is not a mattress rating. Older included-mattress versions are not fully identified; the sagging report is not independently verified.

Score: 9 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Firm, flat surface supported by applicable evidence.

Correct cot fit and size availability

Sova-specific fit; washable mesh cover/pad; water-vapour and firmness claims. The 14-review cot rating is not a mattress rating. Older included-mattress versions are not fully identified; the sagging report is not independently verified.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Exact sizing and fit guidance.

Edge support and shape retention

Sova-specific fit; washable mesh cover/pad; water-vapour and firmness claims. The source does not provide a standardised edge-compression result unless stated. The 14-review cot rating is not a mattress rating. Older included-mattress versions are not fully identified; the sagging report is not independently verified.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Strong edge/support evidence.

Current-model edge-support tests have not been confirmed.

Cleanability and moisture management

Sova-specific fit; washable mesh cover/pad; water-vapour and firmness claims. The 14-review cot rating is not a mattress rating. Older included-mattress versions are not fully identified; the sagging report is not independently verified.

Score: 9 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Removable washable cover plus strong moisture management.

Durability and warranty

Sova-specific fit; washable mesh cover/pad; water-vapour and firmness claims. The 14-review cot rating is not a mattress rating. Older included-mattress versions are not fully identified; the sagging report is not independently verified.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Long warranty and strong durability evidence.

Independent long-term durability evidence remains limited.

Sustainability — 40 / 100

The reviewed information focuses on low-tox and performance claims rather than renewable materials, recycled content, sourcing, energy, packaging or end-of-life.

Renewable / plant-based material share

No detailed product-level renewable-material, sourcing or lifecycle information located.

Score: 4 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

High quantified renewable share.

Durability and reuse lifespan

Sova-specific fit; washable mesh cover/pad; water-vapour and firmness claims.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Long size range, robust materials, warranty/repair data and reuse evidence.

End-of-life evidence and disposal honesty

No detailed product-level renewable-material, sourcing or lifecycle information located. No Australian end-of-life collection or recovery outcome is assumed without published evidence.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Precise, evidence-backed disposal limitations and pathways.

An Australian take-back or recovery option was not found.

Manufacturing powered by renewable energy

No detailed product-level renewable-material, sourcing or lifecycle information located. No mattress-specific renewable-energy percentage was located unless explicitly published.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Independently reported 100% renewable electricity at relevant manufacturing sites.

The mattress factory’s electricity sources and renewable-energy share are not disclosed.

Manufacturing impact / lifecycle evidence

No detailed product-level renewable-material, sourcing or lifecycle information located.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Public product LCA or independently assured impact metrics.

A product lifecycle assessment or independently verified impact figures were not found.

Packaging sustainability

No product-specific packaging sustainability evidence was located in the reviewed public source unless explicitly stated.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Verified compostable/reusable or high-recycled-content recyclable packaging.

Packaging composition and suitable disposal options are not fully disclosed.

Sourcing transparency

Material origins and supplier traceability are not detailed in the reviewed information.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Full product-material provenance and supplier/chain identifiers are documented across all relevant inputs. None of this catalogue is assigned 10 on current records.

Availability — 55 / 100

Sold through Babyhood and selected nursery channels; it is a specialist, cot-specific product rather than a broadly interchangeable size.

Retail availability and purchase convenience

Babyhood and selected nursery retailers; compatible Sova cot required.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Broad major-retailer availability.

Price / value — 64 / 100

This is a specialist three-piece mattress for the Sova cot, so value depends first on exact compatibility. The price is not directly comparable with an ordinary single-piece cot mattress that will not fit that system. Three-piece Sova Cot Breathe Eze mattress: advertised $299. Exact Sova cot compatibility required.

Typical unit / upfront price

Three-piece Sova Cot Breathe Eze mattress: advertised $299. Exact Sova cot compatibility required.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Among lowest relevant current prices.

Shipping, size and promotion changes; verify before purchase.

Value for performance / lifetime cost

Three-piece Sova Cot Breathe Eze mattress: advertised $299. Exact Sova cot compatibility required.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Excellent performance-to-price or strong lifetime economics.

Shipping, size and promotion changes; verify before purchase.

* Benchmarks describe the scoring rubric, not a guarantee of safety or suitability. Read them alongside the product’s findings and limitations.

Sources & evidence confidence

Babyhood publishes extensive product-level material, test and standards claims for the Sova-specific mattress. Confidence is moderate rather than high because public certificate numbers and underlying laboratory reports were not retrieved, and the exact Sova-cot fit limits general applicability.

Product evidence last reviewed: 2026-10-08

General plastics research

These studies explain the wider research behind materials assessment. They do not test this product or establish its safety, chemical content or exposure.