Nestivo

IKEA PELLEPLUTT Foam Mattress for Cot

Cot mattresses

Nestivo’s take

A low-cost, easy-to-buy mattress with a cover that can go through a hot wash. It suits a simple budget setup when the dimensions match. The foam core is not described as washable, so cover cleaning is different from washing the whole mattress.

Compare IKEA PELLEPLUTT Foam Mattress for Cot

Mattress size & cot fit

Australian product 005.935.82 is 132 × 70 × 6 cm. IKEA specifies a cot with 132 × 70 cm inner dimensions. Check the cot’s permitted mattress thickness too.

Dimensions shortlist options; actual fit, firmness, condition and manufacturer approval still need checking.

Manufacturer dimension source · Dimensions checked 2026-10-31

Scores at a glance

What these scores mean and how we assess them

Low toxins
54 / 100
Performance
74 / 100
Sustainability
39 / 100
Availability
95 / 100
Price / value
92 / 100

Why parents choose it

What to think twice about

Evidence behind the scores

Low toxins — 54 / 100

IKEA lists a 65% polyester (100% recycled) and 35% cotton cover, plus polyurethane foam at 25 kg/m3, and states compliance with AS/NZS 8811.1:2013. No product-specific VOC, formaldehyde, flame-treatment or broader chemical test report was located.

Material composition and potentially concerning inputs

Published materials: 65% polyester (100% recycled) / 35% cotton cover; polyurethane foam, 25 kg/m3.

Score: 8 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Full layer/material disclosure.

VOC / odour / emissions disclosure

AS/NZS 8811.1:2013 compliance stated; no product-specific VOC/formaldehyde report located. No full finished-product VOC/emissions report was located in the reviewed public source.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Recognised low-emission testing/certification.

A product-specific emissions or VOC test report was not found.

Formaldehyde, adhesive and binder disclosure

AS/NZS 8811.1:2013 compliance stated; no product-specific VOC/formaldehyde report located. Public disclosure is limited to what the brand describes; Nestivo did not infer absence of formaldehyde, adhesives or binders where it was not stated.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Product-level testing/certification.

Product-specific information on adhesives, binders and formaldehyde remains incomplete.

Flame-retardant treatment disclosure

AS/NZS 8811.1:2013 compliance stated; no product-specific VOC/formaldehyde report located. No chemical-treatment absence is assumed where the page does not say so.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Clear no-added-flame-retardant evidence plus materials.

Whether flame-retardant treatments are used remains unconfirmed.

Independent material, certification or standards evidence

AS/NZS 8811.1:2013 compliance claim. IKEA states that PELLEPLUTT complies with AS/NZS 8811.1:2013. Nestivo has not retrieved the underlying test report or an additional product-specific chemical certification.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Multiple relevant product-level certifications/tests.

The certificate number, current validity and product coverage remain unconfirmed.

Ingredient/material disclosure completeness

65% polyester (100% recycled) / 35% cotton cover; polyurethane foam, 25 kg/m3. AS/NZS 8811.1:2013 compliance stated; no product-specific VOC/formaldehyde report located.

Score: 9 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Full formulation/component list with functions or composition.

Performance — 74 / 100

The removable cover can be washed at 60°C, making routine laundry straightforward. The core is not described as washable, so deeper spill cleaning is more limited than with a washable-core mattress. Current long-term sag and edge-support performance remains less well established.

Confidence: Medium. Independent evidence concerns an older PELLEPLUTT; current-model sag resistance and edge support are less well covered.

Firmness and safe-sleep suitability

70 x 132 x 6 cm; removable cover washable at 60°C. ACCC safe-sleep guidance emphasises using the size and thickness designed for the cot and a firm, flat, level surface. CHOICE’s 2018 PELLEPLUTT has a different cover composition. Older named reviews and Reddit comments about unspecified IKEA mattresses are not current-product code evidence.

Score: 8 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Firm, flat surface supported by applicable evidence.

Correct cot fit and size availability

70 x 132 x 6 cm; removable cover washable at 60°C. CHOICE’s 2018 PELLEPLUTT has a different cover composition. Older named reviews and Reddit comments about unspecified IKEA mattresses are not current-product code evidence.

Score: 8 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Exact sizing and fit guidance.

Edge support and shape retention

70 x 132 x 6 cm; removable cover washable at 60°C. The source does not provide a standardised edge-compression result unless stated. CHOICE’s 2018 PELLEPLUTT has a different cover composition. Older named reviews and Reddit comments about unspecified IKEA mattresses are not current-product code evidence.

Score: 5 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Strong edge/support evidence.

Current-model edge-support tests have not been confirmed.

Cleanability and moisture management

70 x 132 x 6 cm; removable cover washable at 60°C. CHOICE’s 2018 PELLEPLUTT has a different cover composition. Older named reviews and Reddit comments about unspecified IKEA mattresses are not current-product code evidence.

Score: 9 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Removable washable cover plus strong moisture management.

Durability and warranty

70 x 132 x 6 cm; removable cover washable at 60°C. CHOICE’s 2018 PELLEPLUTT has a different cover composition. Older named reviews and Reddit comments about unspecified IKEA mattresses are not current-product code evidence.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Long warranty and strong durability evidence.

Independent long-term durability evidence remains limited.

Sustainability — 39 / 100

The cover contains 100% recycled polyester within its polyester portion. No product-specific recycled-content total, foam sourcing, take-back, packaging or lifecycle study was found.

Renewable / plant-based material share

Recycled polyester in cover; no broader foam sourcing, take-back or lifecycle evidence located.

Score: 5 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

High quantified renewable share.

Durability and reuse lifespan

70 x 132 x 6 cm; removable cover washable at 60°C.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Long size range, robust materials, warranty/repair data and reuse evidence.

End-of-life evidence and disposal honesty

Recycled polyester in cover; no broader foam sourcing, take-back or lifecycle evidence located. No Australian end-of-life collection or recovery outcome is assumed without published evidence.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Precise, evidence-backed disposal limitations and pathways.

An Australian take-back or recovery option was not found.

Manufacturing powered by renewable energy

Recycled polyester in cover; no broader foam sourcing, take-back or lifecycle evidence located. No mattress-specific renewable-energy percentage was located unless explicitly published.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Independently reported 100% renewable electricity at relevant manufacturing sites.

The mattress factory’s electricity sources and renewable-energy share are not disclosed.

Manufacturing impact / lifecycle evidence

Recycled polyester in cover; no broader foam sourcing, take-back or lifecycle evidence located.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Public product LCA or independently assured impact metrics.

A product lifecycle assessment or independently verified impact figures were not found.

Packaging sustainability

No product-specific packaging sustainability evidence was located in the reviewed public source unless explicitly stated.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Verified compostable/reusable or high-recycled-content recyclable packaging.

Packaging composition and suitable disposal options are not fully disclosed.

Sourcing transparency

The cover includes recycled polyester. The origins of the fibres and foam are not detailed in the reviewed information.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Full product-material provenance and supplier/chain identifiers are documented across all relevant inputs. None of this catalogue is assigned 10 on current records.

Availability — 95 / 100

Widely available through IKEA Australia stores and online, subject to current stock.

Retail availability and purchase convenience

IKEA Australia stores and online.

Score: 10 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Broad major-retailer availability.

Price / value — 92 / 100

Listed at $69 in the reviewed source, making it one of the strongest upfront-value options.

Typical unit / upfront price

$69 listed price.

Score: 10 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Among lowest relevant current prices.

Confirm the current live price; promotions and custom quotes change.

Value for performance / lifetime cost

$69 listed price. Value is Nestivo’s relative assessment of published price, warranty, design and evidence; it is not a claim that one choice suits every family.

Score: 8 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Excellent performance-to-price or strong lifetime economics.

Value changes with price, fit, cot compatibility and family needs.

* Benchmarks describe the scoring rubric, not a guarantee of safety or suitability. Read them alongside the product’s findings and limitations.

Sources & evidence confidence

IKEA provides clear dimensions, cover and foam composition, washing instructions, price and AS/NZS 8811.1 compliance claim. It does not provide complete product-level VOC/formaldehyde or lifecycle evidence, which keeps its low-tox and sustainability scores moderate.

Product evidence last reviewed: 2026-10-08

General plastics research

These studies explain the wider research behind materials assessment. They do not test this product or establish its safety, chemical content or exposure.