Material composition and potentially concerning inputs
Published materials: GOTS coir/cotton/wool and GOLS Dunlop latex according to the brand.
Score: 10 / 10
Full layer/material disclosure.
Cot mattresses
Natural fillings and a reversible infant/toddler design are the main attractions. The price is high, and it needs a protector and spot-cleaning rather than a washable core. Infant-sleep firmness needs confirming before use; organic materials alone do not settle that question.
Published mattress dimensions: 130 × 69 × 10 cm. The filter uses the cot’s specified mattress footprint; it does not substitute a generic gap allowance or accept a smaller mattress merely because it fits inside.
Dimensions shortlist options; actual fit, firmness, condition and manufacturer approval still need checking.
Manufacturer dimension source · Dimensions checked 2026-10-31
What these scores mean and how we assess them
Quokka lists GOTS organic coir, cotton and wool plus GOLS Dunlop latex, without conventional foam or stated added flame retardants. The page says the firmness approach is informal/in-house or based on a supplier book method, so Nestivo does not treat this as independent firmness verification.
Published materials: GOTS coir/cotton/wool and GOLS Dunlop latex according to the brand.
Full layer/material disclosure.
Natural-input and dual-sided design claims; independent public firmness report not located. No full finished-product VOC/emissions report was located in the reviewed public source.
Recognised low-emission testing/certification.
A product-specific emissions or VOC test report was not found.
Natural-input and dual-sided design claims; independent public firmness report not located. Public disclosure is limited to what the brand describes; Nestivo did not infer absence of formaldehyde, adhesives or binders where it was not stated.
Product-level testing/certification.
Product-specific information on adhesives, binders and formaldehyde remains incomplete.
Natural-input and dual-sided design claims; independent public firmness report not located. No chemical-treatment absence is assumed where the page does not say so.
Clear no-added-flame-retardant evidence plus materials.
Whether flame-retardant treatments are used remains unconfirmed.
GOTS organic fibres and GOLS latex (brand-published input claims). Quokka identifies GOTS organic coir/cotton/wool and GOLS Dunlop latex. Nestivo did not locate public certificate numbers for the finished mattress, so these are recorded as named material-input claims rather than finished-product certification.
Multiple relevant product-level certifications/tests.
The certificate number, current validity and product coverage remain unconfirmed.
GOTS coir/cotton/wool and GOLS Dunlop latex according to the brand. Natural-input and dual-sided design claims; independent public firmness report not located.
Full formulation/component list with functions or composition.
Owner comments are positive about build quality, and the two-sided design allows an infant-to-toddler transition. Spot-cleaning is the practical drawback compared with a washable-core mattress. Infant use requires the specified infant side.
Confidence: Low. Product details and owner comments are useful, but firmness is supported by an in-house check rather than an independently retrieved test.
69 x 130 x 10 cm; firm infant side / medium toddler side; spot clean and air dry. ACCC safe-sleep guidance emphasises using the size and thickness designed for the cot and a firm, flat, level surface. Small self-selected sample across several years. Perceived firm feel is not a laboratory firmness result; future reuse intentions are not observed durability.
Firm, flat surface supported by applicable evidence.
69 x 130 x 10 cm; firm infant side / medium toddler side; spot clean and air dry. Small self-selected sample across several years. Perceived firm feel is not a laboratory firmness result; future reuse intentions are not observed durability.
Exact sizing and fit guidance.
69 x 130 x 10 cm; firm infant side / medium toddler side; spot clean and air dry. The source does not provide a standardised edge-compression result unless stated. Small self-selected sample across several years. Perceived firm feel is not a laboratory firmness result; future reuse intentions are not observed durability.
Strong edge/support evidence.
Current-model edge-support tests have not been confirmed.
69 x 130 x 10 cm; firm infant side / medium toddler side; spot clean and air dry. Small self-selected sample across several years. Perceived firm feel is not a laboratory firmness result; future reuse intentions are not observed durability.
Removable washable cover plus strong moisture management.
69 x 130 x 10 cm; firm infant side / medium toddler side; spot clean and air dry. Small self-selected sample across several years. Perceived firm feel is not a laboratory firmness result; future reuse intentions are not observed durability.
Long warranty and strong durability evidence.
Independent long-term durability evidence remains limited.
Named organic/certified natural inputs and a two-stage design are meaningful strengths. Nestivo did not locate a product-specific take-back route, packaging detail, quantified lifecycle study or public certificate identifiers.
Named certified natural inputs; no product-level take-back, packaging or LCA evidence located.
High quantified renewable share.
69 x 130 x 10 cm; firm infant side / medium toddler side; spot clean and air dry.
Long size range, robust materials, warranty/repair data and reuse evidence.
Named certified natural inputs; no product-level take-back, packaging or LCA evidence located. No Australian end-of-life collection or recovery outcome is assumed without published evidence.
Precise, evidence-backed disposal limitations and pathways.
An Australian take-back or recovery option was not found.
Named certified natural inputs; no product-level take-back, packaging or LCA evidence located. No mattress-specific renewable-energy percentage was located unless explicitly published.
Independently reported 100% renewable electricity at relevant manufacturing sites.
The mattress factory’s electricity sources and renewable-energy share are not disclosed.
Named certified natural inputs; no product-level take-back, packaging or LCA evidence located.
Public product LCA or independently assured impact metrics.
A product lifecycle assessment or independently verified impact figures were not found.
No product-specific packaging sustainability evidence was located in the reviewed public source unless explicitly stated.
Verified compostable/reusable or high-recycled-content recyclable packaging.
Packaging composition and suitable disposal options are not fully disclosed.
The brand names GOTS organic fibre and GOLS latex inputs; certificate identifiers and covered components remain unconfirmed.
Full product-material provenance and supplier/chain identifiers are documented across all relevant inputs. None of this catalogue is assigned 10 on current records.
Sold direct online, with free delivery and Perth pickup described by the brand; not broadly stocked.
Direct online; free delivery/Perth pickup stated.
Broad major-retailer availability.
Listed at $690. The material profile may justify the premium for some families, but it is one of the least accessible choices by upfront cost.
$690 listed price.
Among lowest relevant current prices.
Confirm the current live price; promotions and custom quotes change.
$690 listed price. Value is Nestivo’s relative assessment of published price, warranty, design and evidence; it is not a claim that one choice suits every family.
Excellent performance-to-price or strong lifetime economics.
Value changes with price, fit, cot compatibility and family needs.
* Benchmarks describe the scoring rubric, not a guarantee of safety or suitability. Read them alongside the product’s findings and limitations.
Quokka publishes detailed natural materials and named GOTS/GOLS inputs, along with dimensions and two-sided design. The firmness check is described as informal/in-house or supplier-book based rather than a retrieved independent laboratory report, and certificate identifiers were not located.
Product evidence last reviewed: 2026-10-08
General plastics research
These studies explain the wider research behind materials assessment. They do not test this product or establish its safety, chemical content or exposure.