Nestivo

OXO Tot On-the-Go Feeding Spoon — Opal

Utensils

Nestivo’s take

A shallow spoon with a longer handle and carrying case suits parent feeding on outings. Less useful for independent dipping or families wanting a complete spoon-and-fork set.

Compare OXO Tot On-the-Go Feeding Spoon — Opal

Age & readiness

6 months and over

Exact Opal model retailer specifies 6 months+. This is retailer guidance; check the supplied instructions.

Product age guidance · Checked 2026-10-30

Scores at a glance

What these scores mean and how we assess them

Low toxins
57 / 100
Performance
77 / 100
Sustainability
42 / 100
Availability
60 / 100
Price / value
59 / 100

Why parents choose it

What to think twice about

Evidence behind the scores

Low toxins — 57 / 100

Named materials make the construction easier to assess, but they do not establish that this product is safer than alternatives. Silicone-coated spoon; the reviewed Australian page does not specify the complete core composition. Brand states BPA-, PVC- and phthalate-free. Public model-specific migration-test reports were not confirmed.

Food-contact material disclosure

Silicone-coated spoon; the reviewed Australian page does not specify the complete core composition. Brand states BPA-, PVC- and phthalate-free.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Complete material disclosure by component.

BPA / bisphenol status

BPA-free claim published for this model.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Independently verified or complete material evidence.

Phthalate status

Phthalate-free claim published for this model.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Independently verified absence.

PFAS / fluorinated coating status

A model-specific PFAS declaration or chemical report was not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Product-level test or explicit supported absence.

Food-contact migration and safety testing

A current, model-specific food-contact migration report was not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Accessible recognised food-contact testing.

Hygienic design and cleanability

Top-rack dishwasher safe.

Score: 9 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Easy to fully clean with few traps.

Ingredient/material disclosure completeness

Silicone-coated spoon; the reviewed Australian page does not specify the complete core composition. Brand states BPA-, PVC- and phthalate-free.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Full formulation/component list with functions or composition.

Performance — 77 / 100

The shallow head and longer handle suit parent-led feeding, with a case to contain the spoon in a bag. Top-rack dishwasher care simplifies cleaning. Its practical role is feeding on the go rather than replacing a self-feeding dipper or toddler cutlery.

Confidence: Medium. Product instructions support the design and cleaning assessment; independent evidence of long-term wear is more limited.

Suitable design and use instructions

Use with supervision and follow the exact model instructions; independent safety testing was not retrieved.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Strong applicable safety evidence and design.

Core function and mess control

Parent feeding spoon and travel case. Does not include a fork or self-feeding dipper.

Score: 8 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Excellent function and consistent reviews.

Ease of cleaning

Top-rack dishwasher safe.

Score: 9 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Simple, dishwasher/wipe-clean and few crevices.

Durability and repeated-use performance

Designed for repeated use; long-term independent comparisons limited.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Robust long-term use.

Everyday handling

Included case keeps the spoon contained in a bag. Fit, surface and child preference can affect everyday use.

Score: 8 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Highly practical and intuitive.

Portability

Travel case included; compact spoon for feeding away from home.

Score: 9 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

A 10/10 benchmark has not yet been defined for this criterion. The highest defined benchmark is 9/10: compact with documented case/fold or low carrying weight.

Sustainability — 42 / 100

The practical sustainability benefit depends on repeated use and care, rather than buying a reusable product and replacing it quickly. Designed for repeated use. Manufacturing energy and whole-product lifecycle impacts remain unconfirmed.

Renewable / plant-based material share

Renewable material share is not established for this model.

Score: 2 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

High quantified renewable share.

Waste and virgin-plastic reduction

Reusable item; no quantified whole-product waste comparison confirmed.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Reusable/high displacement of single-use waste.

Durability and reuse lifespan

Repeated-use design; independent lifespan testing not confirmed.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Long size range, robust materials, warranty/repair data and reuse evidence.

End-of-life evidence and disposal honesty

A practical Australian take-back or confirmed local recycling route was not found.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Precise, evidence-backed disposal limitations and pathways.

Manufacturing powered by renewable energy

Model-specific manufacturing-energy evidence was not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Independently reported 100% renewable electricity at relevant manufacturing sites.

Manufacturing impact / lifecycle evidence

A whole-product lifecycle comparison was not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Public product LCA or independently assured impact metrics.

Packaging sustainability

Packaging composition and recycled content were not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Verified compostable/reusable or high-recycled-content recyclable packaging.

Sourcing transparency

Material origins and supplier traceability are not detailed in the reviewed information.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Full product-material provenance and supplier/chain identifiers are documented across all relevant inputs. None of this catalogue is assigned 10 on current records.

Availability — 60 / 100

OXO Australia lists this exact product for local ordering. That is useful access, but the moderate score reflects a documented online option rather than confirmed availability across local shops; your preferred colour and delivery timing may be less convenient.

Retail availability and purchase convenience

Purchase option shown when checked; colour and delivery availability can vary.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Broad major-retailer availability.

Price / value — 59 / 100

The premium over a basic spoon mainly buys the shallow parent-feeding format and included case. That is useful for meals away from home, but less compelling if you already have a suitable spoon and container. It is one spoon, not a full self-feeding set. AUD $19.95 for the specified item. Observed sale $14.95; regular price used for scoring.

Typical unit / upfront price

AUD $19.95 for the specified item. Observed sale $14.95; regular price used for scoring.

Score: 5 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Among lowest relevant current prices.

Value for performance / lifetime cost

Specified configuration and repeated-use features considered alongside upfront cost.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Excellent performance-to-price or strong lifetime economics.

* Benchmarks describe the scoring rubric, not a guarantee of safety or suitability. Read them alongside the product’s findings and limitations.

Sources & evidence confidence

Exact model reviewed; see evidence limitations.

Product evidence last reviewed: 2026-10-15

General plastics research

These studies explain the wider research behind materials assessment. They do not test this product or establish its safety, chemical content or exposure.