Nestivo

phil&teds Lobster Portable Highchair

Portable seats

Nestivo’s take

A compact fold and carry bag suit travel with a baby who sits unaided. Table compatibility is restrictive, and older owners report mixed seat-depth and tray experiences; check the attachment rules before travelling.

Compare phil&teds Lobster Portable Highchair

Age & readiness

6–36 months

Sitting unaided, approximately 6 months to 3 years, maximum 15 kg. Use the restraint and follow attachment instructions.

Maximum weight: 15 kg for the recorded configuration.

Product age guidance · Checked 2026-10-15

Scores at a glance

What these scores mean and how we assess them

Low toxins
40 / 100
Performance
71 / 100
Sustainability
42 / 100
Availability
60 / 100
Price / value
70 / 100

Why parents choose it

What to think twice about

Evidence behind the scores

Low toxins — 40 / 100

Incomplete material disclosure limits how confidently we can assess food-contact exposure; a product or material label cannot fill those gaps. Aluminium frame; complete seat-fabric composition was not disclosed in the reviewed listing. Public model-specific migration-test reports were not confirmed.

Food-contact material disclosure

Aluminium frame; complete seat-fabric composition was not disclosed in the reviewed listing.

Score: 5 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Complete material disclosure by component.

BPA / bisphenol status

A model-specific bisphenol declaration was not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Independently verified or complete material evidence.

Phthalate status

A model-specific phthalate declaration was not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Independently verified absence.

PFAS / fluorinated coating status

A model-specific PFAS declaration or chemical report was not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Product-level test or explicit supported absence.

Food-contact migration and safety testing

A current, model-specific food-contact migration report was not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Accessible recognised food-contact testing.

Hygienic design and cleanability

Follow the supplied seat-fabric and frame care instructions.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Easy to fully clean with few traps.

Ingredient/material disclosure completeness

Aluminium frame; complete seat-fabric composition was not disclosed in the reviewed listing.

Score: 5 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Full formulation/component list with functions or composition.

Performance — 71 / 100

Owners like the compact carrying format and quick attachment to suitable tables. Some report a deep seat, awkward eating reach or a tray a child can move. Table compatibility and current configuration limits are essential constraints; cleaning includes both seat fabric and clamp areas.

Confidence: Medium. Product instructions support the design and cleaning assessment; independent evidence of long-term wear is more limited.

Suitable design and use instructions

Sitting unaided, approximately 6 months to 3 years, maximum 15 kg. Use the restraint and follow attachment instructions.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Strong applicable safety evidence and design.

Core function and mess control

Table-clamp seat, tray and carry bag. Cannot attach to many restaurant or camping tables.

Score: 8 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Excellent function and consistent reviews.

Ease of cleaning

Follow the supplied seat-fabric and frame care instructions.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Simple, dishwasher/wipe-clean and few crevices.

Durability and repeated-use performance

Designed for repeated use; long-term independent comparisons limited.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Robust long-term use.

Everyday handling

Weighs 1.8 kg and folds to 34 × 35 × 8 cm. Fit, surface and child preference can affect everyday use.

Score: 8 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Highly practical and intuitive.

Portability

1.8 kg; folded 34 × 35 × 8 cm; carry bag included.

Score: 9 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

A 10/10 benchmark has not yet been defined for this criterion. The highest defined benchmark is 9/10: compact with documented case/fold or low carrying weight.

Sustainability — 42 / 100

The practical sustainability benefit depends on repeated use and care, rather than buying a reusable product and replacing it quickly. Designed for repeated use. Manufacturing energy and whole-product lifecycle impacts remain unconfirmed.

Renewable / plant-based material share

Renewable material share is not established for this model.

Score: 2 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

High quantified renewable share.

Waste and virgin-plastic reduction

Reusable item; no quantified whole-product waste comparison confirmed.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Reusable/high displacement of single-use waste.

Durability and reuse lifespan

Repeated-use design; independent lifespan testing not confirmed.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Long size range, robust materials, warranty/repair data and reuse evidence.

End-of-life evidence and disposal honesty

A practical Australian take-back or confirmed local recycling route was not found.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Precise, evidence-backed disposal limitations and pathways.

Manufacturing powered by renewable energy

Model-specific manufacturing-energy evidence was not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Independently reported 100% renewable electricity at relevant manufacturing sites.

Manufacturing impact / lifecycle evidence

A whole-product lifecycle comparison was not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Public product LCA or independently assured impact metrics.

Packaging sustainability

Packaging composition and recycled content were not confirmed.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Verified compostable/reusable or high-recycled-content recyclable packaging.

Sourcing transparency

Material origins and supplier traceability are not detailed in the reviewed information.

Score: 3 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Full product-material provenance and supplier/chain identifiers are documented across all relevant inputs. None of this catalogue is assigned 10 on current records.

Availability — 60 / 100

The Australian phil&teds website gives a direct way to order the Lobster locally. The moderate score reflects this documented purchase option rather than confirmed nearby store stock, which can make it less convenient for a last-minute trip.

Retail availability and purchase convenience

Purchase option shown when checked; colour and delivery availability can vary.

Score: 6 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Broad major-retailer availability.

Price / value — 70 / 100

The premium is easier to justify when the compact fold and included carry bag solve a real travel need. Table restrictions sharply limit where it works, so it can be poor value if the places you visit use incompatible tables. Check compatibility before paying for portability. AUD $149.99 for the specified item.

Typical unit / upfront price

AUD $149.99 for the specified item.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Among lowest relevant current prices.

Value for performance / lifetime cost

Specified configuration and repeated-use features considered alongside upfront cost.

Score: 7 / 10
What earns 10/10?*

Excellent performance-to-price or strong lifetime economics.

* Benchmarks describe the scoring rubric, not a guarantee of safety or suitability. Read them alongside the product’s findings and limitations.

Sources & evidence confidence

Exact model reviewed; see evidence limitations.

Product evidence last reviewed: 2026-10-15

General plastics research

These studies explain the wider research behind materials assessment. They do not test this product or establish its safety, chemical content or exposure.